Virtual Nuka Winter Conference

January 24-26, 2022
Connect – Share – Continue the Journey

Join Southcentral Foundation’s Virtual Nuka Winter Conference and discover how the Nuka System of Care model has led to decreased costs, improved outcomes, and increased satisfaction.

Winter Nuka Conference Agenda

7 – 8 a.m. AKT (UTC – 9)
8 – 9 a.m. Pacific (PT)
9 – 10 a.m. Mountain (MT)
10 – 11 a.m. Central (CT)
11 – Noon Eastern (ET)
4 – 5 p.m. London (UTC +0)
5 – 6 a.m. +1 New Zealand (UTC +13)
Tech Test Session [Optional]
8 – 9:15 a.m. AKT (UTC -9)
9 – 10:15 a.m. Pacific (PT)
10 – 11:15 a.m. Mountain (MT)
11am – 12:15 p.m. Central (CT)
Noon – 1:15 p.m. Eastern (ET)
5 – 6:15 p.m. London (UTC +0)
6 – 7:15 a.m. +1 New Zealand (UTC +13)
Opening and Nuka System of Care Overview
April Kyle, President/CEO
Learning Objectives:

  • Discuss the SCF Nuka System of Care transformation
  • Discuss SCF practices in a community driven health care system
  • Examine the effects of health outcomes and design aspects of a customer-owner health care delivery system
  • Define SCF’s successes and challenges on instituting change
30 Minute Break Break
9:45 – 11 a.m. AKT (UTC – 9)
10:45 a.m. – Noon Pacific (PT)
11:45 a.m. – 1 p.m. Mountain (MT)
12:45 – 2 p.m. Central (CT)
1:45 – 3 p.m. Eastern (ET)
6:45 – 8 p.m. London (UTC +0)
7:45 – 9 a.m. +1 New Zealand (UTC +13)
Powerful Primary Care Approach
Doug Eby, Donna Galbreath
Learning Objectives:

  • Compare differences between traditional health care systems and integrated health care systems
  • Identify the different integrated care team roles and how they contribute to the team
  • Examine the structures that support the team-based environment
  • Define SCF’s relationship-based approach for overcoming barriers to teamwork and customer-driven care
30 Minute Break Break
11:30 a.m. – 12:45 p.m. AKT (UTC – 8)
12:30 – 1:45 p.m. Pacific (PT)
1:30 – 2:45 p.m. Mountain (MT)
2:30 – 3:45 p.m. Central (CT)
3:30 – 4:45 p.m. Eastern (ET)
8:30 – 9:45 p.m. London (UTC +0)
9:30 – 10:45 a.m. +1 New Zealand (UTC +13)
Concurrent Workshops
Workforce Development and Human Resources Best Practices
Karen McIntire, Kristi Brenock-Leduc, Barb Sappah
Learning Objectives:

  • Examine SCF’s relationship-based approach to Human Resources
  • Identify SCF’s workforce competencies and their role in interviewing, performance development plans, and performance evaluation to support the vision and mission
  • Define the use of onboarding as a tool in promoting career development throughout the workforce
  • Describe SCF’s learning and development philosophy, structures, processes, and workforce support
Data and Information Management
Steve Tierney, David Fenn
Learning Objectives:

  • Review SCF’s journey to building a data quality platform
  • Examine methods for workflow versus outcome focused practice
  • Provide key steps to consider when building or growing your own information strategy
  • Discuss what is done if data shows performance is not acceptable
  • Examine segmentation of high utilizers to optimize resources
30 Minute Break Break
1:15 – 2:30 p.m. AKDT (UTC – 8)
2:15 – 3:30 p.m. Pacific (PT)
3:15 – 4:30 p.m. Mountain (MT)
4:15 – 5:30 p.m. Central (CT)
5:15 – 6:30 p.m. Eastern (ET)
10:15 – 11:30 p.m. London (UTC +0)
11:15 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. +1 New Zealand (UTC +13)
Introduction to Behavioral Health Care Integration
Melissa Merrick, Jackie Ballou, Brian McCutcheon
Learning Objectives:

  • Define behavioral health integration
  • Explore existing models of integration
  • Describe behavioral health integration at SCF and where it is implemented
  • Explain brief intervention
  • Explore the common clinical issues addressed, and the standard screening tools used
7 – 8:15 a.m. AKT (UTC – 9)
8 – 9:15 a.m. Pacific (PT)
9 – 10:15 a.m. Mountain (MT)
10 – 11:15 a.m. Central (CT)
11 a.m. – 12:15 p.m. Eastern (ET)
4 – 5:15 p.m. London (UTC +0)
5 – 6:15 a.m. +1 New Zealand (UTC +13)
Tour of Southcentral Foundation’s Anchorage Native Primary Care Center
Doug Eby

  • Describe how the Nuka System of Care’s philosophy is infused in outstanding facility design
  • Define how the beautiful facilities contribute to Alaska Native pride, honor, dignity, and self – confidence
  • Relate facility design to effective clinical interactions
15 Minute Break Break
8:30 – 9:45 a.m. AKT (UTC – 9)
9:30 – 10:45 a.m. Pacific (PT)
10:30 – 11:45 a.m. Mountain (MT)
11:30 a.m. – 12:45 p.m. Central (CT)
12:30 – 1:45 p.m. Eastern (ET)
5:30 – 6:45 p.m. London (UTC +0)
6:30 – 7:45 a.m. +1 New Zealand (UTC +13)
SCF’s NEW Integrated Care Team Playbook
Michelle Tierney, LaZell Hammons, Steve Tierney, Mel Binion
Learning Objectives:

  • Identify the key elements of SCF’s READI improvement model
  • Analyze the fundamentals of SCF’s approach to integrated care
  • Explore the concepts from SCF’s ICT Playbook to change management
30 Minute Break Break
10:15 – 11:30 a.m. AKT (UTC – 9)
10:45 a.m. – Noon Pacific (PT)
11:45 a.m. – 1 p.m. Mountain (MT)
12:45 – 2 p.m. Central (CT)
1:45 – 3 p.m. Eastern (ET)
6:45 – 8 p.m. London (UTC +0)
7:45 – 9 a.m. +1 New Zealand (UTC +13)
Identifying and Addressing Trauma and its Impacts on Health Through Cultural Strategies
Polly Andrews, Marcel Bergeron
Learning Objectives:

  • Identify how services aimed at addressing root causes helps heal trauma and leads to improved health outcomes
  • Explore how learning circles help participants connect with topics such as anger, recovery, responding, disappointment, shame, and relational style
  • Explore the impact of implementing the use of peer leaders and modeling rather than clinical hierarchy in addressing issues of trauma
  • Identify how emphasis on culture and spirituality and building on the strengths of the Native community can help those impacted by trauma
30 Minute Break Break
Noon – 1:15 p.m. AKT (UTC – 8)
12:30 – 1:45 p.m. Pacific (PT)
1:30 – 2:45 p.m. Mountain (MT)
2:30 – 3:45 p.m. Central (CT)
3:30 – 4:45 p.m. Eastern (ET)
8:30 – 9:45 p.m. London (UTC +0)
9:30 – 10:45 a.m. +1 New Zealand (UTC +13)
Concurrent Workshops
Strategic Planning and Using the Voice of the Customer for Improvement
Nellie Anagick

  • Determine ways that accessing the voice of the customer helps in the improvement cycle
  • Identify structures which support deploying improvement initiatives
  • Explain how SCF’s strategic approach to improvement supports our journey to achieve the vision and mission
  • Describe how SCF applies the Baldrige framework and uses Baldrige feedback as a tool for continuous improvement
  • Describe various ways SCF listens to the voice of the customer and uses feedback for improvement
Advanced Behavioral Health Integration
Melissa Merrick, Alyson Herman, Roger Fox

  • Review of behavioral health integration (BHI) clinical work
  • Explore Behavioral Health Consultants (BHCs) clinical assessment tools
  • Provide overview of hiring, training, and leadership of BHCs
  • Discuss financial structure of BHI services
  • Describe expansion of BHI services, including integrated psychiatry
  • Describe expanding BHI services to non – primary care settings
30 Minute Break Break
1:45 – 3 p.m. AKDT (UTC – 8)
2:15 – 3:30 p.m. Pacific (PT)
3:15 – 4:30 p.m. Mountain (MT)
4:15 – 5:30 p.m. Central (CT)
5:15 – 6:30 p.m. Eastern (ET)
10:15 – 11:30 p.m. London (UTC +0)
11:15 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. +1 New Zealand (UTC +13)
Engaging the Community
Karen Cheung, Denise Dillard, Nellie Anagick

[Idea to focus session on community needs assessment process, how SCF did it and has done it with others, etc.] Include in messaging – really good engagement all the time; how we engage often (Tribal advisories). Initial assessment and sustaining (assessment again = affirming, not necessarily news)

Polly Andrews

7 – 8:15 a.m. AKT (UTC – 9)
8 – 9:15 a.m. Pacific (PT)
9 – 10:15 a.m. Mountain (MT)
10 – 11:15 a.m. Central (CT)
11 a.m. – 12:15 p.m. Eastern (ET)
4 – 5:15 p.m. London (UTC +0)
5 – 6:15 a.m. +1 New Zealand (UTC +13)
Concurrent Workshops
Learning Circle Demo
KJ Worbey, Bobbi Outten
Learning Objectives:

  • Understand SCFs learning circle philosophy
  • Learn how to support and strengthen professional relationships even when working remotely
  • Participate in an SCF learning circle
Nuka Strategic Planning Software Demo
D. Michael Lewis, Jake Johnson
Learning objectives:

  • Identify issues connecting the work of staff to organizational Vision & Mission statements
  • Explore the process though which SCF implements a standardized planning approach and Lessons Learned
  • Understand the part that software plays in tracking work across more than 100 annual operational and improvement plans
  • Understand how the process and software above is used to eliminate silos and redundant efforts
15 Minute Break Break
8:30 – 9:45 a.m. AKT (UTC – 9)
9:30 – 10:45 a.m. Pacific (PT)
10:30 – 11:45 a.m. Mountain (MT)
11:30 a.m. – 12:45 p.m. Central (CT)
12:30 – 1:45 p.m. Eastern (ET)
5:30 – 6:45 p.m. London (UTC +0)
6:30 – 7:45 a.m. +1 New Zealand (UTC +13)
Creating a Culture of Continuous Improvement
Steve Tierney, Karen McIntire

  • Identify the ways in which SCF collects feedback from customer – owners
  • Analyze how SCF uses feedback and other forms of data to guide improvement efforts
  • Identify how SCF incorporates the Baldrige framework into its improvement efforts
  • Identify how SCF makes a continuous improvement a priority for all employees and all areas of the organization
30 Minute Break Break
10:15 – 11:30 a.m. AKT (UTC – 9)
10:45 a.m. – Noon Pacific (PT)
11:45 a.m. – 1 p.m. Mountain (MT)
12:45 – 2 p.m. Central (CT)
1:45 – 3 p.m. Eastern (ET)
6:45 – 8 p.m. London (UTC +0)
7:45 – 9 a.m. +1 New Zealand (UTC +13)
Concurrent Workshops
Comprehensive Care for an Aging Population
Rona Johnson, Chris Piromalli
Learning Objectives:

  • Analyze how SCF created the Aging Well initiative using the Institute for Healthcare Improvement’s evidence – based 4M model
  • Identify the four essentials for an age – friendly health system, and how SCF ensures that the Aging Well program provides these
  • Examine how SCF’s Aging Well initiative has improved customer – owner health outcomes
New Generations Project
Danelle Stein, Lindsey Earnest, Matt Hirschfeld
Learning Objectives:

  • Analyze how SCF developed the New Generations project in cooperation with providers and customer – owners
  • Analyze how SCF collaborates with external organizations, such as the Alaska Association for Infant and Early Childhood Mental Health, to provide care through the New Generations program
  • Identify the ways in which support for families and young children can lead to improved health outcomes
30 Minute Break Break
Noon – 1:15 p.m. AKT (UTC – 8)
12:30 – 1:45 p.m. Pacific (PT)
1:30 – 2:45 p.m. Mountain (MT)
2:30 – 3:45 p.m. Central (CT)
3:30 – 4:45 p.m. Eastern (ET)
8:30 – 9:45 p.m. London (UTC +0)
9:30 – 10:45 a.m. +1 New Zealand (UTC +13)
Managing and Sustaining Change [Q&A]
Michelle Tierney, Karen McIntire

  • Learn about the tools and systems SCF uses to facilitate change
  • Review change management principles
  • Learn how to support staff during times of change
30 Minute Break Break
1:45 – 2:15 p.m. AKDT (UTC – 8)
2:15 – 3:15 p.m. Pacific (PT)
3:15 – 4:15 p.m. Mountain (MT)
4:15 – 5:15 p.m. Central (CT)
5:15 – 6:15 p.m. Eastern (ET)
10:15 – 11:15 p.m. London (UTC +0)
11:15 a.m. – 12:15 p.m. +1 New Zealand (UTC +13)
Cultural Closing – Alaska Native Dance
Polly Andrews

Introduction to Core Concepts

January 27-28, 2022

Consider adding SCF’s Virtual Introduction to Core Concepts to your Nuka Winter Conference registration!

Introduction to Core Concepts is a three-day virtual introductory training that makes use of principles from SCF’s internal Core Concepts training to teach communication and relationship-building skills. The lessons in Introduction to Core Concepts are derived from Alaska Native values of sharing story and listening to others share theirs, and have helped bring SCF’s system of relationship-based care to national and international recognition for high quality health care. In this training, you will recognize the importance of relationships and personal connection within SCF’s Nuka System of Care, demonstrate how to share and respond to story, and create an environment for improved communication and relationships through shared vision.

This training focuses on building relationships and practicing communication tools in small groups. It is important for attendees to plan on sharing video during the training and to participate in the full two days.

Integrated Care Training Workshop

January 31-February 3, 2022

Consider adding SCF’s Integrated Care Training Workshop to your Nuka Winter Conference registration!

In the Integrated Care Team workshop you will explore the systems and protocols SCF has developed to create effective partnerships and integrate services; practice skills needed to improve team efficiency, satisfaction, and the customer experience through interactive, subject matter expert-led panels and sessions; and view a virtual tour of SCF’s clinical and team-based spaces. The webinar includes sessions covering integrated care teams, behavioral health integration, and operations.

YOU SHOULD CONSIDER ATTENDING IF YOU:

  • Are interested in learning new skills
  • Would like to network with other health care organizations
  • Are seeking proven solutions, best practices and tools to address challenging organizational issues in this rapidly changing industry
  • Would like to see a vision for the future of health care

PARTICIPANTS HAVE INCLUDED:

  • Executive Leadership
  • Directors
  • Managers
  • Direct Clients / Patient Services
  • Specialists
  • Board Members / Owners
  • Coordinators
  • Consultants
  • Analysts / Associates
  • Administrative Support
  • Interns / Fellows
  • Instructors / Educators

SAVE
THE
DATE

REGISTRATION WILL OPEN SOON!

  • Virtual Nuka Winter Conference: January 24-26, 2022 Registration $499.
  • Introduction to Core Concepts: January 27-28, 2022 Registration $999 (group rate of $799 for 5 or more)
  • Integrated Care Team Webinar: January 31-February 3, 2022 Registration $999 (group rate of $799 for 5 or more
  • Package pricing:
    • Virtual Nuka Conference + Introduction to Core Concepts = $1,099
    • Virtual Nuka Conference + Integrated Care Team Webinar = $1,099
    • Virtual Nuka Conference + Introduction to Core Concepts + Integrated Care Team Webinar = $1,899

To register a group for any of the Nuka Winter Conference activities, please contact the SCF Learning Institute by emailing SCFNukaEvent@scf.cc or calling (907) 729-6852


Cancellations received by email by Jan. 18, 5 p.m. AKST will receive a full refund. Any cancellations received after that can be transferred to another employee at your organization. To cancel your registration, please email SCFNukaEvent@scf.cc.